Armenian Voters Overwhelmingly Turn Out for Calif. Democratic Party Delegate Elections

The rain and long lines did not deter Armenian-Americans from voting in Calif. Democratic Party delegate elections over the weekend.

GLENDALE—Armenian-Americans in various districts overwhelmingly turned out to elect delegates to the upcoming State Democratic Convention and elected members of the Armenian-American community to represent their interests at this pivotal party convention.

In the 43rd Assembly District election, all 14 candidates of the Democrats United slate were elected according to preliminary results. The democrats on the slate are: Elen Asatryan, Aline Babaian, Jordan Del Guercio, Mijin Fernandes, Jamie Garcia, Malcolm Johnson, Berdj Karapetian, Silva Kechichian, Leonard Manoukian, Shant Sahakian, Judith Smith, Steven Widdon, Gary Willis, and Tereza Yerimyan. Voters elected delegate Berdj Karapetian to the influential Executive Board of the State Central Committee.

The candidates of the Democrats United slate actively engaged the grassroots and effectively mobilized their local communities, sweeping the opposition and winning the elections by a sizable margin. According to preliminary results, an unprecedented 739 ballots were cast during the two-hour voting period, forcing eager voters to wait patiently in a line that stretched nearly 500 yards. Several hundred voters waited more than 25 minutes to make their voices heard.

The 43rd Assembly District includes the cities of Burbank, Glendale, La Cañada Flintridge, La Crescenta-Montrose, as well as the Los Feliz and Little Armenia neighborhoods of Los Angeles.

Similarly, a late representing the Armenian-American community was also elected in the 41st Assembly district. The democrats that were elected in that slate are: Joanne Wendler, Michelle Bailey, Darla Dyson, Alex Zucco, Linda Baker, Aida Dimejian, Teresa Lamb Simpson, Tim Wendler, John Harabedian, Hoyt Hilsman, Peter Baker, Gar Byrum, Sahag Yedalian and Garen Kirakosian.

The 41st Assembly District covers the cities of Altadena, Claremont, East Pasadena, La Verne, Monrovia, Pasadena, San Dimas, Sierra Madre, South Pasadena, Rancho Cucamonga, San Antonio Heights and Upland.

Other Armenians elected during this weekend’s vote are: Aram Kaloustian (AD 46); Deanna Minasian (AD 06); Eleanor Garabedian (AD 23); Nareg Khodanian, Marie Khatchaderian (AD 39)l and Murad Minasian (AD 58).

Over the last decade, Armenian participation in the delegate election has steadily increased, but the 2015 elections marked a new milestone. The Armenian-American community’s participation was the determining factor of the election results. For the next two years, the group of elected delegates will be tasked with representing the 43rd AD constituency, electing party officers, promoting the California democratic party agenda, endorsing candidates for statewide, legislative and congressional office, voting to endorse resolutions and ballot measures, and attending the party conventions.

According to the California Democratic Party Communications Director Tenoch Flores, the results are not considered final until verified by the State Party. The verification process takes anywhere from 10 -14 days. Final results, though not expected to change, will be posted in the coming weeks on the party’s website.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.