Foreign Ministry Reveals Details of EEU Agreement

The presidents of Kazakhstan, Russia, Belarus, Armenia and Kyrgyzstan meet at a Eurasian Union summit in Astana. May 29, 2014.

YEREVAN (Arka)—On Friday, Armenia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs unveiled details of a draft agreement on the country’s accession to the Russian-led Eurasian Economic Union. The discloser was prompted by heavy pressure from non-governmental organizations and the media, who accused Yerevan of being secretive and opaque on the issue.

“It is important to note that before the signing of this treaty changes are possible on the sides’ consent,” the Foreign Ministry explained.

On May 29, Russia, Kazakhstan and Belarus signed a treaty on the establishment of the Eurasian Economic Union. The treaty takes force on January 1, 2015.

On Sept. 1, Russian President Vladimir Putin approved the government’s proposal to sign an accession agreement with Armenia.

On Sept. 3, the Eurasian Economic Commission reported that the final version of the treaty had already been sent to the governments of Russia, Kazakhstan, Belarus, and Armenia for ratification.

The four countries will meet in October to ratify Armenia’s entry into the Union.


Discussion Policy

Comments are welcomed and encouraged. Though you are fully responsible for the content you post, comments that include profanity, personal attacks or other inappropriate material will not be permitted. Asbarez reserves the right to block users who violate any of our posting standards and policies.


  1. Hratch said:

    Please report on the status of Artsakh and her economic relations with Armenia. Why so secretive? Hasn’t Tsar Putin explained how that is going to work?

    • GeorgeMardig said:

      @Hratch: If Armenians don’t like it, than they can join Turkey and Azerbaijan